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February 8, 2012
Certified Mail #7006 0100 0002 0173 8179
Mr. Karl W. Pfeiffer, CPA
683 Lincoln Lane
Palisade, CO 81526

RE:  Continuing Professional Education (CPE) Requirements -- License No. 4640, Karl W. Pfeiffer / Case #2012-03
Dear Mr. Pfeiffer:

As you are aware, you have not met Continuing Professional Education (CPE) requirements for the past reporting period of July 1, 2008 through June 30, 2011 which may constitute a violation of the New Mexico Public Accountancy Act [61-28B-9 NMSA 1978]; the New Mexico Public Accountancy Act [61-28B-20.A (3), (6), (7) NMSA 1978];  and Public Accountancy Board Rule 16.60.3.15 NMAC.

The New Mexico Public Accountancy Board’s Complaint Committee presented its report concerning this matter to the Board on February 7, 2012.  The Board determined that it has sufficient evidence that, if not rebutted or explained, justifies the Board in commencing disciplinary action against you by serving you with a Notice of Contemplated Action (NCA).  Before initiating a formal disciplinary action, the Board has authorized me to attempt to resolve this matter with you by mutual agreement without the time and expense of a formal hearing.  The Board has authorized me to present the following terms as settlement in this matter:

1. You shall pay a fine in the amount of $250. Such payment shall be made by Money Order or Cashier’s Check and remitted to the address at the top of this letter by April 30, 2012;

2. You shall provide documentation of completion of 5 hours of CPE to satisfy the reporting requirements for the past audited reporting cycle by April 30, 2012.  These hours will not be accepted toward meeting future CPE requirements.  
If you accept this settlement and agree to pay the $250 fine and provide documentation of the completion of 5 hours of CPE to satisfy the reporting requirements for the past audited reporting cycle by April 30, 2012 as a resolution of this matter, you are admitting to the above allegations.  By paying the $250 fine and providing documentation of the completion of 5 hours of CPE to satisfy the reporting requirements for the past audited reporting cycle by April 30, 2012, you also are agreeing to voluntarily waive your rights to a formal hearing on the above-described allegations.  Your rights include the right to a Notice of Contemplated Action, which contains written notice of the charges against you, the general nature of the evidence concerning the allegations, and notice of your right to contest the allegations at a formal hearing before the Public Accountancy Board, pursuant to the provisions of the Uniform Licensing Act, NMSA 1978, Sections 61-1-4 and 61-1-8.  A copy of these provisions is enclosed.  Payment of a $250 fine and documentation of the completion of 5 hours of CPE to satisfy the reporting requirements for the past audited reporting cycle by April 30, 2012 will be included in your permanent licensing file, which is a public record subject to inspection by the public upon request.  Payment of a $250 fine will be reported in the Board’s newsletter. 

A settlement is considered satisfaction of the above-described allegation only and does not preclude the Board from investigating other complaints or initiating disciplinary proceedings against you that are not related to the above-described allegation.

If this offer is not accepted within 30 days, the matter will be referred to the Attorney General’s Office for issuance of a Notice of Contemplated Action (NCA).  I recommend you seek the advice of an attorney before you make a decision in this matter.  Please respond to this proposal for settlement within thirty (30) days of receipt of this letter.

Sincerely,

Patricia Soukup

Executive Director

New Mexico Public Accountancy Board


Enclosures as stated
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